Keep Calm and Carry On

This week’s project was an exercise in the importance of always having a backup plan.

 

When I started planning this post, I wanted to focus on organizational tips for college students on a budget. Unfortunately, my single room is currently playing host to several extra pieces of furniture so I was unable to make it work.

 

My plan B, also a space-saving craft, met failure at every turn. Not to be discouraged, I’m in the process of salvaging it and you can look forward to a post by the end of the week.

 

Thus, we arrive at plan C- decorative accents. As most who know me can testify, I am a big believer that it is the little things that make you stand out. The same idea applies to decorating. It’s important to add whimsical, personal aspects to your room.

 

Take this desk for example. Nothing special about it. Every resident student at LU has the same one. What they dont have, is your personality.

 

The first step is to evaluate your space. How much physical room do you have? Are there specific items that you must leave space for? In my case, the dresser also serves as my nightstand, so I have to designate space for a lamp and my phone. Easy? For sure.

 

Next consider your color scheme or theme of your room. This is another topic I strongly believe is important for standing out in college. If you have a roommate you may want to coordinate colors to create a sense of harmony. If you’re like me, you can just choose whatever you want. My colors are teal, dark blue, and lime green, so I try to keep that in mind as much as possible.

 

Then evaluate when you will be using or looking at the space. Is it something you will only pay attention to in the mornings? Will you see it anytime you walk in the room? My dresser is the last thing I see at night and the first thing I see in the morning. Therefore I wanted to choose items that are both fun and valuable to me.

 

There are five important items to include: 

 

1. The Necessary. This is your alarm clock, cell phone charger, or a lamp. Keep it simple and use only what you must.

 

2. The Personal. This is something close to your heart. I chose a picture of myself with NC, but this could just as easily be a photo of my family or a momento of some kind.

 

 

3. The Motivational. This can be an inspirational quote, song lyrics, or anything else that gives you the energy to get moving. I use my “Keep Calm and Carry On” board to remind myself to stay focused on the positives in my life.

 

4. The Decorative. This is something without a purpose other than appearance. I used these nifty sequins balls I made. It doesn’t have to be big or impressive. I personally like to use handmade items for this element.

 

 

5. The Original. This is something that reflects your personality and passions. It could be a football, painting, or anything else that you have laying around in your room. These glitter pumps are occasionally used, but most often sit atop my dresser as a girly touch.

 

 

If you take away anything from this post, I hope it is the importance of understanding that Plan A may not always work. In crafts, as in life, flexibility is crucial.

2 responses to “Keep Calm and Carry On

  1. Your room is beautiful Kirstie! You’re officially our resident interior designer. I also really appreciate that your decoration is done with intent; you blend function and fashion well!

  2. You better believe I’m doing this.
    I have a “clean house day” planned for Saturday,
    and this….is happening. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Archives

