Moral Compass

A moral compass is defined as anything which serves to guide decisions based on values and virtues. This can range from culture, to parenting, or even friends. These influences may be subtle or obvious.

Personally, I believe that my moral compass is influenced by my parents and life in small town Missouri. My views on life are largely conservative. The few topics that I agree with liberally are related directly to people I personally know.

My parents have always taught me to be reserved, and that reservation has carried over into my decision making. When choosing whether to risk something dangerous or play it safe, I more often than not choose the option that is unlikely to harm me in any way.

Growing up in Missouri, I learned the importance of supporting local businesses and agriculture. This influences my shopping decisions. When given the option of shopping at a Farmer’s Market or local store, I choose that option over the big-box chains such as Wal-Mart.

The voice in my head when making major decisions is my own. Though influenced in many ways by outside sources, at the end of the day I make my own choices. I often disagree with what my family, roommates, and boyfriend would do if they were in my place.

One response to “Moral Compass

  1. Your comments on how geography impacts morals are very insightful!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Archives

